drewpetrey

My last name…

In Work on August 27, 2010 at 11:53 pm

Does a name mean anything?  For instance, when our President wakes up in the morning does he say to himself, “My name is on the line today, I better make good on it?”  Something tells me he doesn’t.  Anyways, while driving back to the office today a song came on the radio that I hadn’t heard in quite some time, it’s sung by country artist Dierks Bentley and is titled, “My last name.”  I was quite struck with its lyrics. 

If there is one thing lacking in business today, well I think there are many things really, but nothing as glaring as a lack of caring for the name given to us by our fathers.  Stay with me on this one… For me at least the name that is passed from my grandfather, to my father, to me, to my son is valuable.  It is how we are remembered, how we are known in our community.  My grandfather and father have worked too hard for me to squander this thing they have entrusted to me.  And I promise that I will develop this idea in my sons as well. 

Think about it.  A name lasts.

Leave a Reply

