drewpetrey

Monday

In My Walk on October 12, 2009 at 8:53 pm

Good morning.  I am sitting in the office this morning with many things rolling around the interior of my mind.  Most of it is chaos and snippets from the weekend, business left undone and bills needing to be paid.  I think most would call it stress.  What causes stress?  Is it inevitable?  Or is it simply a part of life, an evil necessity?

RD spoke yesterday in our fellowship about nets.    He explained that trapeze artists in the circus cannot perform to their utmost potential without a net in place.  He also told us about the construction of the Golden Gate Bridge and how so many men were falling to their deaths that a giant net was installed and the deaths stopped and production soared.  And then came the question…  What is my net?  Is it wealth?  Or maybe my ability to sell.  Is it a full work load?  Is it having the bills paid?  When can I rest?

I think the answer lies in a verse as it usually does.  Consider Matthew chapter 11, verses 28-30.  ” Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  “Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  “For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

Leave a Reply

