drewpetrey

Trust

In Uncategorized on February 16, 2009 at 11:19 pm

What does it really mean to trust in God?  I’m not even going to pretend like I have it all figured out but I have been doing a lot of thinking, praying and meditating on this subject in the last few days.  Here’s what I’ve learned so far.

Trust is abandonment:  We are not to even lean on our own understanding, Prov. 3:5-6.  I am learning to really use this word picture; In my minds eye I see myself leaning on something and if that’s not God and His plan for my life than it immediately has to change.  I am learning that I can fully lean all of my weight onto God and His promises.  This thought provides me with much peace and rest.  Comfort.

We are not to be anxious:  It’s not God’s plan for me to be anxious, Phi. 4.  We should take our worries and anxieties and form them into prayers that we present to God, lean on Him if you will.  Everytime one comes to mind I am trying to stop what I’m doing and lean into God giving my worry to him through prayer.  Again, tremendous comfort.

Finally, We must live in a state of constant communication with God if we are to have true peace:  To receive God’s peace we have to be connected to Him, 1 Thess. 5:16-18.  Remember that prayer is also listening and it is a time for God to communicate with us.  I have noticed a incredible sense of His presence when I come into my prayers humbly, silently and expectantly, just listening and being lead by His Spirit.

Hopefully this will be encouraging to some.

Leave a Reply

