drewpetrey

God and Money

In Uncategorized on January 12, 2009 at 3:30 pm

In my quiet time this morning I read a verse that really spoke to me, please consider Matthew 6: 24, Jesus talking, “No one can serve two masters, for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other.  You cannot serve God and money.”  I love how plain Jesus is here, it puts it out like it is and lets us deal with it.  I like that.

In my world as a business man, this is completely and drastically opposite of what I see and am taught on many occasions, it really is absurd.  Money is power, it’s status and to many it’s the reason they get up in the morning, and to be completely honest with you my reader, it’s a daily struggle for me.  Where is the balance in working hard to maintain a profitable, growing business, but not serving money?  I was telling my Heavenly Father this morning that I was struggling with this concept and I felt Him gently leading me to be an anomaly in this world of business.  What this looks like and how it will all play out, I don’t know, but, I will learn.

As always, your prayers are greatly appreciated.  Please pray specifically that I will not surrender my time and talents to the profit of this world but will “lay up treasures in heaven”  in my life and business.

Drew

  1. I think that it all comes down to keeping the focus on Who gives the money, and Who’s money it is. As Christians, it is “God’s money”, and we must be open to use it however He wants us too. We must recognize that God is our Master, and has given us this money to use for His glory, as well as provide for our daily needs.

Leave a Reply

